1973 was a banner year for Polaris racing. Nearly every manufacturer had a good race sled available, but the new 1973 Starfire won in the big time races and the smaller ones as well. Bob Eastman finally cracked the Eagle River code and became the 1973 World’s Champion. Stan Hayes won the Winnipeg to St. Paul I-500, with Wes Pesek, Ed Monsrud, Jim Safranski and Dorothy Mercer right behind him. Larry Rugland became a force to be reckoned with.